Readings

POL 309-800, International Law
Fall 2019 | warkentin.xyz/309

Complete assigned readings before coming to class on the indicated dates. Always bring a copy of the day's reading to class with you and be ready to discuss the subject material.

Tue, Aug 27

Turabian: §7.9, Guard against Inadvertent Plagiarism (81-83); §11.1, Focus on the First Seven or Eight Words of a Sentence (114-121); §15.1, Reasons for Citing Your Sources (139-140); §15.2, The Requirements of Citations (140-142); Ch. 18, Author-Date Style: The Basic Form (223–235)

Thu, Aug 29

B & K: Ch. 1, Nature and History of International Law (3-14); Ch. 2, General Principles and Customary International Law (15-26)

Tue, Sep 3

B & K: Ch. 3, Treaties (27-44); Ch. 4, Other Sources and Evidence (45-56)

Thu, Sep 5

Ohlin: Ch. 1, Introduction to International Legal Regulations (1-32)

Tue, Sep 10

Ohlin: Ch. 2, Custom & Other Sources (33-74)

Thu, Sep 12

Ohlin: Ch. 3, Treaties (75-128)

Tue, Sep 17

B & K: Ch. 5, International Dispute Resolution (57-80); Ch. 6, States: Identity, Recognition, and Succession (83-96)

Thu, Sep 19

B & K: Ch. 7, State Responsibility and Diplomatic Protection (97-112); Ch. 8, International Organizations (113-124); Ch. 9, Individuals in International Law (125-140)

Tue, Sep 24

Ohlin: Ch. 4, States (129-178)

Thu, Sep 26

Ohlin: Ch. 5, International Organizations (179-230)

Tue, Oct 1

No Class Meeting

Thu, Oct 3

Ohlin: Ch. 6, Principles of State Responsibility (231-278)

Tue, Oct 8

Ohlin: Ch. 7, Adjudicating International Disputes (279-314)

Thu, Oct 10

B & K: Ch. 10, Human Rights and Global Migration (143-168); Ch. 11 State Territory and Common Areas (169-182)

Tue, Oct 15

B & K: Ch. 12, Law of the Sea (183-198); Ch. 15, Countermeasures and Control of Armed Conflict (229-250); Ch. 16, Laws of War (251-262)

Thu, Oct 17

Ohlin: Ch. 8, Enforcing International Law (315-352)

Tue, Oct 22

Ohlin: Ch. 9, Self-Defense (353-390)

Thu, Oct 24

Ohlin: Ch. 10, Humanitarian Intervention (391-424)

Tue, Oct 29

Ohlin: Ch. 11, Human Rights (425-455)

Thu, Oct 31

Ohlin: Ch. 11, Human Rights (455-498)

Tue, Nov 5

Ohlin: Ch. 12, International Humanitarian Law (499-527)

Thu, Nov 7

Ohlin: Ch. 12, International Humanitarian Law (527-550)

Tue, Nov 12

Ohlin: Ch. 13, International Criminal Law (551-604)

Thu, Nov 14

Ohlin: Ch. 13, International Criminal Law (604-632)

Tue, Nov 19

Ohlin: Ch. 14, Applying International Law in Domestic Courts (633-684)
[Optional] B & K: Ch. 17, International Law and U.S. Law (265-276); Ch. 18, International Agreements in U.S. Law (277-290)

Thu, Nov 21

Ohlin: Ch. 15, Principles of Jurisdiction (685-730)
[Optional] B & K: Ch. 19, Jurisdiction (291-308)

Tue, Nov 26

Ohlin: Ch. 16, Immunities (731-776)
[Optional] B & K: Ch. 20, Jurisdictional Immunities (309-330)

Thu, Nov 28

No Class Meeting

Tue, Dec 3

Ohlin: Ch. 17, International Economic Law (777-812)
[Optional] B & K: Ch. 14, International Economic Law (215-228)

Thu, Dec 5

Ohlin: Ch. 18, International Environmental Law (813-858)
B & K: Ch. 21, Contemporary Challenges (331-338)
[Optional] B & K: Ch. 13, International Environmental Law (199-214)